Help for my daughter

My daughter is in a relationship that is so wrong for her.  She needs to break free from her abuse, but she keeps going back.  I don’t understand it.  I have tried to help in every way I know but she won’t let me in.  She turns the problem around and makes it about me.  When I look at her, I see the old me that kept trying to hold on to a bad relationship.  A relationship that I really needed to let go.

Regardless of what is going on in a relationship, you are not going to leave until you have had enough.  But you only hurt yourself because it doesn’t get better, it gets worse.

My abuser robbed me of my self esteem and made me feel worthless.  I felt no one loved me or cared about me, but the truth was I didn’t love myself.  I see these things in my daughter also.  I need her to see the abuser for who he is.  She deserves to be happy and she has a son who needs her.  I speak at the Shelter once a week to battered and abused women.  They listen and understand, but I cannot reach my own daughter.  Any suggestions?

3 Comments

Filed under Bad Relationships, Parental help, Self esteem

3 responses to “Help for my daughter

  1. M.L.Sellers

    This is so true. Abuse is abuse whether it is physical, verbal or mental. It all hurts!!! But until you make up in your mind this is it, it will never happen..You are in control of your happiness.

Leave a Reply

